Install Windows 7 (64 bit) on HP 530 Notebook


Windows Versions

When Windows Vista became pre-release I immediately installed it because of the stories that we heard about it. We all remember that Microsoft says a lot about Windows Vista, so that we believed it will satisfy all our dreams.

But I couldn’t use it more than one month!! I realized that Windows Vista is not stable, beside that it used a lot of RAM comparing to Windows XP, so I felt that I was stupid because I believed Microsoft trivialities about Windows Vista. From that day I stuck with Windows XP and refuse even thinking about changing it!

Now a days, Windows 7 become pre-release and many people (includes IT professionals) says that Windows 7 is the best ever Windows, they always repeat that Windows 7 is the soul of Windows XP with Windows Vista style. So after I heard this story from a lot of my friends I finally decide to try Windows 7

Preparing to Install

I installed Windows 7 Ultimate (64 bit) on my HP 530 Notebook, and realized a lot of people in forums tried to do that on almost the same laptop, so I deiced to add this post to be a step by step tutorial about installing Windows 7 and almost all programs you need on it.

First step is to create a new partition (if you want to install Windows 7 and keep your old Windows like me) or make sure that you don’t need any files from your old windows drive.

The question here is how much the drive should be? well I recommend that the drive should be at least 25 GB, so that you can Install Windows 7 Ultimate (or what ever version you want) and all your favorite programs on the same drive.

The last question you might ask is what about drives? should I download any? well, my notebook came with FreeDOS so I have no driver at all! and HP provides only drivers for Windows XP and Windows Vista on here website. The answer is so simple: you almost will not need to install any driver manually, so lets begin the installation process.

You are now ready to install Windows 7 so shutdown your laptop to boot from Windows 7 DVD (I tried to install Windows 7 from inside Windows XP but it didn’t work). DO NOT press the hibernate option! (like I did) if you want Windows 7 to add a multi-boot option for you, you must shutdown your computer.

Installation

When I installed Windows XP on my notebook I fell into the problem of SATA hard disks and forced to disable SATA option from BOIS to let Windows XP recognized my hard, so it remains disabled while I installed Windows 7 (I don’t believe that you will have this problem, but just in case).

Now boot from Windows 7 DVD and follow the installation steps, it is really a simple installation and you will face only 2 or 3 windows before waiting about 10 minutes to your first reboot.

After that you will enter your computer name, use account and something like that. Here you are! welcome to Windows 7 world!

You can notice from you computer properties that you have only 30 days trial, well now Windows 7 is still pre-release so I went to Microsoft site and got a key from here, so my Windows is Genuine now.

Drivers

Now open Device Manager and let’s see what we have, you will notice that Windows 7 installed driver for your Sound Device, Modem and Wireless Network Adapter. But you still have 2 yellow icons named “Ethernet Controller” and “Unknown Device”.
As you expect “Ethernet Controller” is your Network Adapter but don’t worry because Windows 7 can recognize it! All you need is right click on it and choose “Update Driver” option and tell Windows that you will install the driver manually then choose Vendor “Intel” and device that named “Intel PRO/100 Network Controller” (or what ever your network card is) and let Windows install the driver for you.
Now what about “Unknown Device”? after some search I found it, it is HP Quick Launch Buttons. You can now check that your launch buttons is working fine except that you see nothing when you use them (you are not seeing any thing when you darken or brighten your screen for example). So you need to install a driver only if you want to see something when you use your launch buttons, I found a lot of drivers for HP Quick Launch Buttons on the internet but no one works with Windows 7 (64 bit). Finally I found this one which worked perfectly.
You still have one drive that could be better, yes it is Display Driver. All you need is going to “Windows Update” from “Control Panel” and let Windows check for updates, you will see about 4 updates related to your drivers and one of them will install a Nvidia Driver for you (about 16 MB). DO NOT INSTALL the update related to the modem driver, because after I installed it I got a blue screen every time I connect to the Internet with a dial up connection until I uninstalled that update.
So you are now using Windows 7 and you manually downloaded only one driver (Even though you don’t really need it!).

Programs

I can say that I did not have any problem while installing my favorite programs and here is some of them:

Firefox

I can’t find 64 bit of Firefox even there is a version for another browser derived from it, so I installed the 32 bit of Firefox as usual and it works fine with all my favorite addons.

Java

After a lot of searching about JDK for 64 bit (not just JRE), I installed 64 bit version of JDK 1.6 from here.
You will realize after installing JDK 64 bit that it has no Java plugin for browsers, so you must download it your self and install it separately (you will need a file named jre-6u16-windows-i586-s.exe).

TortoiseSVN

I installed TortoiseSVN 64 bit from tortoisesvn.net website.

Windows Sidebar

I love Vista Windows sidebar and I had a fix to install it on my old Windows XP, so on Windows 7 I searched about it and found that Windows 7 don’t have a Sidebar that can be stuck to the right of my screen as with Windows Vista, all it has is a capability to show the gadgets on my desktop and that is not what I want. So after some search I found this fix that fixed my Windows Sidebar and let me enjoy Vista Sidebar program on my Windows 7.

That is the most important programs I used to use, and all of them is just working fine on Windows 7

Conclusion

After I used Windows 7 for about 2 weeks until now, I can tell you that Windows 7 is more stable than Windows Vista, although it uses less memory. Beside that it has a great graphics effects especially when you use Aero theme.

Now I see that I was wrong when I decided to install Windows 7 and kept Windows XP, because I can tell you that you will never boot to Windows XP if you have Windows 7 installed on you PC.

61 Responses to “Install Windows 7 (64 bit) on HP 530 Notebook”

  1. mbinjona Says:

    Thanks indeed.

  2. jeff Says:

    My cooling fan keeps working non stop on windows 7 even on power saver is that normal ?

  3. Shiraz Says:

    hi
    on my hp530 windows 7 is not activating…is there any way to do it??

  4. wanthom Says:

    How much RAM you have when you installing 64bit version Windows 7? I read that if you have less than 4GB is better 32bit.

  5. Dave Walters Says:

    I have a Hp 530 and i tried installing windows 7 but after i entered my user name and all the computer said log in on then it changed to shutting down and it restarted with a black screen saying ” windows cannot verify the digital signature for this file” file\windows\system32\win load. exe

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      Maybe your windows installation is corrupted, try to check your winload.exe signature your self, and if it is a bad one change your installation CD.
      My winload.exe is fine and here is a print screen of its signature:
      winload.exe signature

  6. naj Says:

    I have hp530 1.6 GHz Core 2 Duo, 32 bit with 2 GB RAM. Do you think windows 7 will work fine on it?
    Thanks in Advance

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      Yes, it should work. Mine is HP530 1.6 GHz and It is working perfect now for about 3 months on Windows 7, 64 bit.
      Note that your CPU is Core 2 Duo, so it should work with 32 bit or 64 bit version of any Windows. To be sure search about your CPU on http://ark.intel.com/Search.aspx to see if it supports 64 bit.

  7. ElSayed Says:

    i have HP 530 1.83 GH, 2 GB RAM and 320 GB HD.
    a bootable dvd of windows 7 doesn’t work, but a bootable cd of windows XP work. to install windows 7 i install XP first, why a win 7 bootable doesn’t work while the same dvd work as a bootable on a desk top computer.

    • Vance Layne Says:

      The possible reason is that the laptop may have come only with a CD-ROM, while the PC may have a DVD-ROM or a multi device (CD/DVD).

  8. InstallSoftware Says:

    Hi there.
    Thank you for a great post. It was very helpfull.
    Anyone reading this post should bookmark this guys contents.

    I have a new PC and needed some installation help so i went over to http://www.InstallSoftware.com but they did not provide me with the in depth
    info this guy did. he kicks all the bigger sites’ butts.

    Thanks Again

  9. Sergiy Says:

    I have HP 530 Intel Core 2 CPU T5200@1.6 GHz, 4 GB RAM.
    After installing Windows 7 64-bit available for work only 3.37 GB RAM from 4 GB! In BIOS available 4 GB!
    I see in Task manager (System monitor) that 649 MB is reserved of hardware.
    It is possible to access on HP 530 all 4GB memory under Windows 7 64-bit?

  10. Sergiy Says:

    Yes, Windows-7 64-bit.

  11. stuart Says:

    hi thank 4 ur post… plz tell me… i have a Nec versa E6500 laptop and i really want to install win 7 on it… but can’t find the drivers for win 7,got only for my current running windows which is vista… i ran windows 7 upgrade advisor and it said everything is ok,yeah it’s a dual core too (2.0) and 2gb ram… do u think i can do the same as u did for ur hp 530?? thank in advance… any help is welcome

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      I think that your vista driver will work on Windows 7.
      So: yes, you can do the same as I did, why not??

      • stuart Says:

        i want to try… but for hp530 there’s no integreted webcam,bluetooth etc… i really hope my drivers for wista work on it… yet i still hesitate… need to do a back up first… my real problem is that the windows vista install on my laptop is genuine but i don’t have the original dvd for it.. it was pre-installed from where i bought it… if it doesn’t work i shall loose that u see… the win7 i have is genuine and i have the dvd…

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      My HP530 Laptop doesn’t have integrated Webcam or bluetooth!
      Anyway I understood your problem and I advice you to do it like this:
      1. Take an image of your system drive (using norton ghost for example) so you can easily rollback if anything goes wrong, by just extract the image again on your drive.
      2. Install Windows 7 and let it use its drivers for your hardware.
      3. Use Windows Update to find drivers for your unknown devices that Windows 7 didn’t see it.
      4. If you still have unknown devices, search the internet to find working drivers on Windows 7 and if you can’t find one, get Vista driver and install in on your Windows 7 and it should work then.

      Hope that it will work.

  12. stuart Says:

    thx dear… i shall try it during the weekend and let u know…

  13. stuart Says:

    hi madhat alsoos… hope u had a nice weekend… well yesterday i made a back up on my nec versa e6500… and i format my drive and installed a fresh win 7 as with the old vista which i got pre-loaded was with it a lot of softwares i don’t use… well i noticed that there is a hidden partition on my drive name OEM (reserved)… using my old desktop pc i searched the net and got a bit information on it dat it’s from the manufacturer… so i leave it like that… fortunately it’s only 10gb of capacity… for some person i found that for it arise even up to 100gb… my hdd is 250gb, yes i install the win 7 and it works like a charm…. really nice to use… the windows itself installed the drivers for my graphics and sound… my webcam also is working normally… i even noticed an improvement in the volume of my laptop… yeah it’s louder…
    yet as i needed to leave for office,tonight i should see if my bluetooth and card reader are working. I didn’t try yet. some keys doesn’t work on my keyboard like shortcuts and my touch pad which usually when i double tap lights blue and i can use a kind of kinetic scrolling on the right side of the pad doesn’t work for now. tonight i will try to install my vista driver on it as the windows doesn’t seem to notice it isn’t working as in my device manager only something like base system device… is unknown and the rest seem fine… i think it’s my card reader… and windows can’t install it automatically…

      • stuart Says:

        ellooo… well win 7 is working fine..!! everything is ok… really good windows!! for the prob i was facing lastly i installed the missing drivers like for my bluetooth, card reader and touch pad from my drivers for vista on it and all got fixed! thank again man… yeah win 7 worth the change!

  14. darkness Says:

    i have the same problem with fan …. it’s keep working .
    and i still have unknown device ( details – hardware Ids . value- ACPI\HPQ0006 )
    and i check out the task manager and found that system Idle P takes about 70-100% .
    can u help me plz
    hp-530 intel core due 2,16 . ram 1,5 .windows 7 ultimate 32 bit

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      System Idle Process is used about 70-100% of CPU time in any windows and on any computer, that is normal. So the problem is somewhere else not in this process.
      You should consider CPU Usage Percentage instead to see if your CPU is 100% used or what

  15. darkness Says:

    then what about unknown device … is it can lead to fan work like what i have ? …. or the windows version ( W-7 ultimate 32-bit ) is not Compatible with my system ?
    the CPU Usage is about 20-60%

  16. Beautiful Asian Girls · Says:

    sometimes windows7 won’t install if you install it on a pc with a previous installation of windows XP ”

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      Windows 7 should not be affected with Windows XP during installation, because you must format your previous windows or you should install it in another partition.
      I didn’t have any problem during installation even though there was Windows XP installed on my laptop, because I installed it in another partition and I have now Windows 7 side by side with Windows XP.

  17. Anxiety Symptoms Information Says:

    well, i have troubles installing windows7 on my PC. maybe i need a bios update or something :~,

  18. woenmag Says:

    I see you have a nice blog and I can help you to promote it.

  19. krishna Says:

    i have hp 530 1gb,32 bit, 1gb of RAM. every time i used to install window7 (64 bit) it’s telling me that my PC is not compatible with the version. i’m using window vista (32 bit) what should i do? thank you in advance

    • Madhat Alsoos Says:

      What did you mean by 32bit when you said: “hp 530 1gb,32 bit, 1gb of RAM”?
      What is the exact compatibility message you get from Windows 7 and when you saw it?
      HP 530 comes with 1GB ram I bought another 1GB ram stick so My laptop ends with 2GB of Memeory.
      Because HP 530 CPU support 64 bit, I tried to install Windows 7 64 bit on my laptop and it works

    • fm Says:

      HP 530 notebook come with different cpu:
      1) Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5200 (1.6-GHz, 553-MHz FSB, 2-MB L2
      cache)
      2) Intel Celeron Processor 530 (1.73-GHz, 533-MHz FSB, 1-MB L2 cache)
      and
      3) not listed in Quick Specs, but normally and officially sold, Intel Core Duo Processor T2600 (that’s my case)
      4) some other cpu (I guess…)

      With 3), isn’t possible to use a 64 bit version of a Operating System, because this cpu only support 32 bit instruction set. Instead, 1) and 2) support 64 bit instruction set (and you can install a 64 bit S.O.)

      On a 32 bit Operating System, it will only be usuable 3.4 – 3.5 gb, because a 32 bit O. S. doesnt have enough memory registers to accomodate 4 (or more) gb

      Also, remember that video card use the central memory, i.e. there is a further reduction of available memory…

      Sergiy says “Yes”, but is confirmed from other people?

      • fm Says:

        Is obvious that also on a 64 bit S.O., if used with 4 gb of memory, there will be available less than 4 gb…

        I.e. until 4 gb, 64 bit S.O. and 32 bit S.O. are similar

        Above 4 gb, 32 bit S.O. handles only (approximately) 3.5 gb; instead 64 bit S.O. handles (approximately) the total amount of memory

  20. usman Says:

    real helpful man u rock 🙂 i have learned alot ffrom it

  21. iaamd Says:

    If i install windows 7 64bits, can i increase the ram up to 2GB?? Maybe 4GB using 2 of 2GB each slot?
    Thanks from Panama

  22. Art Says:

    Very sanks for ethernet controller solution

  23. fawad Says:

    i install window 7 in my laptop
    @you will notice that Windows 7 installed driver for your Sound Device, Modem and Wireless Network Adapter. But you still have 2 yellow icons named “Ethernet Controller” and “Unknown Device”.
    As you expect “Ethernet Controller” is your Network Adapter but don’t worry because Windows 7 can recognize it! All you need is right click on it and choose “Update Driver” option and tell Windows that you will install the driver manually then choose Vendor “Intel” and device that named “Intel PRO/100 Network Controller” (or what ever your network card is) and let Windows install the driver for you.@
    i hav sam labtop u hav i do tht but i didnt found “Intel PRO/100 Network Controller” tell me any site n send me driver plzzzzzzzz \thnkz

  24. legal online poker Says:

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article appear to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not positive if this really is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The style and style look wonderful though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Kudos

  25. fm Says:

    HP 530 notebook come with different cpu:
    1) Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5200 (1.6-GHz, 553-MHz FSB, 2-MB L2
    cache)
    2) Intel Celeron Processor 530 (1.73-GHz, 533-MHz FSB, 1-MB L2 cache)
    and
    3) not listed in Quick Specs, but normally and officially sold, Intel Core Duo Processor T2600 (that’s my case)
    4) some other cpu (I guess…)

    With 3), isn’t possible to use a 64 bit version of a Operating System, because this cpu only support 32 bit instruction set. Instead, 1) and 2) support 64 bit instruction set (and you can install a 64 bit S.O.)

    On a 32 bit Operating System, it will only be usuable 3.4 – 3.5 gb, because a 32 bit O. S. doesnt have enough memory registers to accomodate 4 (or more) gb

    Also, remember that video card use the central memory, i.e. there is a further reduction of available memory…

    *But the question is*:

    is true that this notebook support until (or more than) 4 gb of memory?

    On Quick Specs, we can read that this notebook support only a maximum of 2 gb memory.

    But i945GME chipset support until 4 gb of memory:
    http://ark.intel.com/products/32281/Intel-82945GME-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller

    And the BIOS? Support 4 gb of memory?

    Sergiy says “Yes”, but is confirmed from other people?

  26. Teo Says:

    excuse me, nobody has had problems with usb port?
    I have a HP530 with Windows 7 ultimate x64bit and if i connect an USB HDD i can’t transfer any file, but i can read it

    thank

  27. mobile games Says:

    Hi to every single one, it’s truly a nice for me to pay
    a quick visit this web site, it includes valuable Information.

  28. sanjoy roy Says:

    any body help me i can not install windows 7 in hp 530, 2 to deo, 1gb ram, 1.68 & 160 gb hdd, please tell me any change in bios setup

  29. Hp Laptop Windows 7 Base System Device | Technology Documents Says:

    […] Install Windows 7 (64 bit) on HP 530 Notebook | Madhat Alsoos – 2/10/2009 · As you expect “Ethernet Controller” is your Network Adapter but don’t worry because Windows 7 can recognize it! All you need is right click on it and …… […]

  30. wilbourne Says:

    cant boot into bios set up what is the correct function key?


Leave a Reply

